Behind-the-scenes news from the Honolulu Museum of Art

,

Garden of Reflection Week 4+

Students from Academy of the Pacific help install the colorful mirrors which reflect upon the entrance of the Cades Pavilion...

Read More+ Thursday, August 23, 2012

Two more reinstalled galleries to see!: 20th-century art+

People who attend Two Museums and a Royal Palace tonight will be the first to see the two latest galleries...

Read More+ Friday, August 10, 2012
, ,

Garden of Reflection Week 3+

Week 3 of our Garden of Reflection installation has produced some unexpected light effects and placement of reflective objects. Visitors...

Read More+ Tuesday, August 7, 2012

New in the galleries: Dazzling porcelain display+

Back in November, Amber Ludwig, curatorial assistant in the European and American Art department, wrote about her project creating an...

Read More+ Thursday, August 2, 2012
, ,

Garden of Reflection: Week 1+

It was a great first weekend here at Spalding House! Here I am installing the colored mirrors, which museum visitors...

Read More+ Tuesday, July 24, 2012
,

New at Spalding House: Garden of Reflection+

I’m the new Orvis Artist in Residence at Spalding House—I start my installation on July 21. This is my first...

Read More+ Thursday, July 12, 2012
,

Art to Go in action+

Abbey Day, our outreach program coordinator, has shared some wonderful presentations of two Art to Go sessions that ended in...

Read More+ Thursday, June 28, 2012

Using art to develop a better doctor+

In 2010, the museum, working with the John A. Burns School of Medicine, created the for-credit elective Enhancing Clinical Skills...

Read More+ Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Help support art education at the ArTEE Party, June 10+

Eleven of Hawaii’s top artists gather at Whole Foods Kahala, Sunday, June 10, for the arTEE Party. Visit the Whole...

Read More+ Tuesday, June 5, 2012
, ,

An art project E.O. Wilson would love+

Andrea Jonna Charuk completed her second weekend as Orvis Artist in Residence at Spalding House on Sunday. Her project Take...

Read More+ Tuesday, May 8, 2012